發表於 2009-12-18 21:00:18 | 顯示全部樓層 |閱讀模式
本帖最後由 mca 於 2009-12-18 21:15 編輯

(問題源自 Jack Lai,藍色字是回應)

----- Original Message -----
To: [email protected]
Sent: Monday, September 28, 2009 9:04 PM
Subject: Astronomy Questions

Dear Sir/ Madam,
  I am a beginner who is very interested in subjects related to astronomy. Recently, I find out two questions from the internet which I do not know the answers…. I wonder if you can help me to solve the questions and explain in details.

1. If the direction of rotation of the Earth was reversed and the direction of revolution remained the same, would the sidereal day be longer than the solar day?

2. Let's assume for simplicity that the orbital plane of Mars is the same as the orbital plane of Earth, and the angle between its rotational axis and revolution axis is 25°. For observers on Mars, is their north celestial pole same as ours? Is their ecliptic same as ours? Are their zodiac same as ours? Can they observe retrograde motion of the Earth?

---------

Answers:

A1.   At present, the Earth takes 23h 56m (one sidereal day) to rotate 360 deg clockwise. Assuming this rate not changed when the Earth rotated anticlockwise, the average solar day would become 23h 52 m. See Figure 1. In this case, the Sun would rise from the west instead of the east, and one year would have ~367 “new solar days”.

A2.   At present, the orbit of Mars is not strictly parallel to the ecliptic but inclines at 1.9 deg, see Figure 2. If the inclination angle (i) was reduced to zero, k would become j = 25.2 deg. Axis Earth and Axis Mars would be more parallel. In this case both rotation axes would point “almost” to same celestial north pole. The zodiac is expected nearly same for both planets. This of course assumes both the Mars and Earth tilt to same side of the celestial sphere.